Winners of the 2022 AAPA-CIP Port Industry Award of Excellence

“Recognizing outstanding ports in the Americas”

The Secretariat of Inter-American Committee on Ports (CIP) of the Organization of American States (OAS) and the Latin America Delegation of the American Association of Port Authorities (AAPA), recognize the importance of a competitive port industry for region’s economic and social development. The AAPA-CIP Port Industry Award of Excellence was launched in 2021 to showcase integral port development initiatives and recognize ports and terminals in the Americas for their outstanding operations and contributions to the economic and social prosperity of their respective countries.

The AAPA-CIP Award is open to both public and private ports, terminals, and port operators from the 35 Member States of the OAS. In this second edition of the collaborative Award, the Jury Committee received 24 applications of the highest caliber from countries in North America, Latin America, and the Caribbean. In all cases, the applicants demonstrated great commitment to excellence in their operations, advancing the economic conditions of their communities and economies, and promoting strategic alliances with key stakeholders in their countries.

After a highly competitive process, the winning entries of the AAPA-CIP Award showcased outstanding indicators together with clearly accomplished objectives in their respective categories:

Technology and Innovation:

APM Terminals Callao, Peru, was recognized for integrating technology and innovative processes into their operations to boost efficiency, increasing competitiveness, and improving the quality of their services.

Port Infrastructure Development:

Port of Itaqui, Brazil, was recognized for expanding their physical port infrastructure with concrete and measurable positive (local) economic impacts.

Public-Private Partnerships:

Port Authority of Santos, Brazil, was recognized for promoting public-private strategic alliances with stakeholders from different entities or sectors for sustainable and efficient port development.

Awardees will receive recognition throughout the Western Hemisphere through various communication and media channels, including the publication on AAPA and CIP-OAS websites, and will be honored during the 30th Latin American Congress of Ports, in Santos, Brazil, November 28-30, 2022.

The CIP Secretariat and AAPA wish to thank all the institutions that have participated in this edition of the Award for their important commitment to the port sector in the region and extend their most heartfelt congratulations to the winners for their outstanding accomplishments.

The awards will be presented during the XXX LATIN AMERICAN CONGRESS OF PORTS to be held in Santos - Brazil, November 28-30, 2022.
Winners of the 2021 Edition